Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-21-2009
Accepted Solution

Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Has anyone done integration like this before?  We want the call center to find a contact based on the inbound phone number? I can do the integration myself but would prefer to purchase an existing integration if it exists.

 

We've had Cisco Call Manager Express running in our call center for a couple of years and we now want to get more in depth with the integration.  The version we bough supports both data dips(pulling data into the phone system from a DB) and screen pops(sending phone data to a client application).  The biggest impact for us would be using screen pops to send the phone number to SLX.  My understanding is that the Cisco call center manager can be setup to find SLX and send it a series of emulated keyboard presses.  Typically they pick a <ctrl> sequence like "<ctrl>J", followed by data and then end with a <return>

 

 

Gold Super Contributor
Posts: 3,087
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Your best bet is a 3rd party add-on for "screen pops".

 

EX:

   Zeron (www.zeron.bix)

   QGate (www.QGateSoftware.com)

 

Dialing out is an SLx OOTB scenario 

--
RJ Ledger - rjledger@rjlSystems.net +1 603.369.3047 x101

".. Innovators in Mobility - Experts in Workflow Automation..."
http://www.rjlSystems.net - blog: www.rjlSystems.net/blog.html
Tuned Listener
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-17-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Cisco is an IP based telephony platform - you mention that dialing out is an OOTB feature but does it work on a VOIP platform? I thought it was only TAPI based?
Gold Super Contributor
Posts: 3,087
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Were you thinking of vendors like Skype or Vonage?

 

Skype has an "sdk" to enable this.. and we built a Vonage dialing setup using their "click2call" api. 

--
RJ Ledger - rjledger@rjlSystems.net +1 603.369.3047 x101

".. Innovators in Mobility - Experts in Workflow Automation..."
http://www.rjlSystems.net - blog: www.rjlSystems.net/blog.html
Tuned Listener
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-17-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Nope, I was thinking of the native Cisco IP telephony platform or , for that matter, any SIP or or other propriatary IP voice paltform (for example the Xlite SIP softphone)

 

Thanks

Gold Super Contributor
Posts: 3,087
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Have not been down that road.
--
RJ Ledger - rjledger@rjlSystems.net +1 603.369.3047 x101

".. Innovators in Mobility - Experts in Workflow Automation..."
http://www.rjlSystems.net - blog: www.rjlSystems.net/blog.html
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-08-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

I know this has been a while since this was posted but I felt I should add a note. My company is currently using the Cisco call manager and we do have screen pops. It is a simple macro that runs on the phone side that runs the SLX phone number lookup for any incoming number more than 4 digits(internal calls are omitted). The only problem we have is, we are currently using LAN 7.5 and the 'insert' ticket function locks SLX for any movement. This can cause the program to freeze when the user is in that mode when a call comes in. We have not found a workaround for this problem. We just recommend to users that they are only in the ticket 'insert' mode for the shortest time possible.
Gold Super Contributor
Posts: 3,087
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: Has anyone done screen pops with Cisco Call Manager Express

Insert Ticket is a "modal" window.. and that is why this happens. 

--
RJ Ledger - rjledger@rjlSystems.net +1 603.369.3047 x101

".. Innovators in Mobility - Experts in Workflow Automation..."
http://www.rjlSystems.net - blog: www.rjlSystems.net/blog.html