Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings

User's Recycle Bin

Status: Under Consideration
by slcjjw on ‎02-10-2011 02:28 PM

It would be nice for end users to have a RECYCLE BIN, where deleted items would reside for a period of time (specififed by admin).

 

We spend too much time restoring items that users accidentially delete.

Comments
by Nickel Contributor anoshwadia
on ‎02-28-2011 08:58 AM

Sorry to piggyback on this idea, the recycle bin idea is great, but at the very least if we could have some log of when an entity was deleted, that itself would be very useful. All of us have dealt with the frustration of an Account being deleted accidentally and the data being lost and it would be useful to know who deleted it and when.

by slcjjw
on ‎02-28-2011 09:05 AM

It would also help "users" feel more confident in the system when they know who did something. Many of our users have lost a great deal of confidence in the system because of this....Some method would be an advantage and I know competing products have recycle bin.

by Silver Contributor RJSamp
on ‎02-28-2011 10:45 AM

well.........

 

1. the deletion log idea has been around for awhile.....do a search on What's New for the LAN users's.....have actually implemented this at several customer's.......

and absolutely we should know who deleted the item and when (DeleteUsery, DeleteDate)

 

2. Don't let user's delete anything......they can request or mark an item for deletion, but can't delete it......

 

3. The idea of a recycle bin contradict's synchronization....you're going to check out an Account for a day, week, month by putting it in a recycle bin, and then resurrect its contacts addresses opportunities from the dead and change reports, dashboards, business intelligence, forecasts with it's data? We're all big boys and girls here.....delete means delete, their are no accidental deletions, only malicious or untrained users......

 

Again, don't allow users to delete stuff!

 

4. Changing ownership to a Deletion Group is a great way to removed an account from remote databases, and take the items out of any Groups There's your recycle bin....the administrator simply returns the ownership back to whomever and the resurrected data syncs back out the remote DB's and appears in Groups.....

 

 

by Nickel Contributor anoshwadia
‎04-08-2011 08:07 AM - edited ‎04-08-2011 08:11 AM

RJ

 

Your points are absolutely valid and in a perfect world, users wouldn't have permissions to delete and only Admins would. We all know this doesn't always happen. Very often by the time the BP finds out that the users were not restricted from deleting data, its already too late.

 

In addition, Admins make mistakes too, I can't tell you the number of times I've had an Admin call me and say they've accidentally removed an account, thinking it was a duplicate, when actually it was the valid record they wanted to keep.

 

So I'm not a huge fan of the "recycle bin" idea, that would be handy but would cause headaches for sync customers. Thankfully with SLX Web, the number of customers with sync are on the decline. However I do think that a simple log would go a long way to help resolve these accidental deletes.

 

Either way its good auditing practice, we track most database changes...the delete "change" is one of the most important ones to track if you ask me!

 

Edit: Forgot to mention, I'm resurrecting this discussion because I'm running into a issue with a customer were a bunch of records are mysteriously disappearing....I suspect users are deleting them but I have no proof, and in this particular case taking away delete rights isn't an option. So I was really hoping something could be done to track deletes. Right now I'm using the not-so-elegant solution of using SQL triggers since the customer in question does not have remotes.

by slcjjw
on ‎04-08-2011 08:10 AM

...and in our business environment each planner and their practice SHOULD and CAN delete items. They operate as a seperate business but affiliated with our broker/dealer. 


If the user has a recycle bin of their own, it would off-load manhours from admin side.

by Bronze Super Contributor rchavez
on ‎05-20-2011 06:44 AM

Jeffrey:

 

  I think I know where you are coming from. In your case, the Deletion feature I believe is customized.

 

  The data is not truly being deleted, however users don't have access to the "Recycle Bin".

 

  It would be indeed a good idea to Implement a feature where the users could see the Items that they deleted within the last X number of days, and allow them to execute a Restore...

 

  That being said, I agree with you that it would be nice if SalesLogix had support for a Soft Delete out of the box, with access to a Recycle bin, however you may consider login in a Feature request with the suggestion to grant each user access to a Recycle Bin area where they can see the data they removed.

by Moderator Moderator
on ‎08-02-2012 11:56 AM
Status changed to: Under Consideration
 

We want to hear your cool ideas for enhancing Saleslogix products and services. So add your own ideas or kudo (vote) on the ideas of others here! Watch the most valuable bubble to the top!

I have an idea! How do I get started?

One
Read our submission guidelines.

Two
Search for your idea. If you don't see it, submit a new one!

Three
Provide feedback on the ideas of others by voting with kudos and adding comments.
For more information about using ideas, read this thread.

Four
Track your ideas and those you like. Once you've posted or kudoed and idea, subscribe to be notified via email of the latest updates to the idea. From within the idea, click "Idea Options" which appears above the idea title and choose, "Subscribe to this idea".

Be sure to check back from time to time to see new ideas and status updates!

Here is a quick list of the recent ideas for speedy browsing!
Labels