Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings

New records should prompt for saving before leaving the page.

Status: Delivered in 8.0
by mhartwell on ‎09-09-2011 11:30 AM

My users might be finding difficulty with this because we just converted from the LAN version to the web version.  But, when inserting a new contact/account/opportunity, users are able to navigate away from the Insert page without being prompted to save.  Sometimes they are in the middle of adding something and then get pulled away and have to come back.  They may forget what they are in the middle of and when they navigate away, they lose all of their information.  I think if a user navigates away from the Insert page, they should be prompted or notified that they will lose data if they continue.

Comments
by Gold Super Contributor RJLedger
on ‎09-09-2011 12:55 PM

There should (at least) be an option controlling if it "auto-saves" or works like it does now which can be set by:

   A - The individual in his/her options settings

   B - The Admin via Admin functions globally/individually where globally wins.

by Employee
on ‎09-09-2011 10:11 PM

Ideally the scenario would make sense for calling a Save business rule with a prompt to save if there were atleast one or more values in the collection of the entity's properties through any of the Javascript client side events. If it does not what's the point of saving the record or asking the user to save the record. It can be misleading.

by Gold Super Contributor RJLedger
on ‎09-10-2011 05:33 PM

The web already "knows" when there's been a change since it asks you if you want to save if you changed something ("dirty page"). Taking it the next step should be relatively simple. 

by Silver Contributor RJSamp
on ‎04-16-2012 07:11 PM

I'm with RJ on this.....we don't need a prompt for Save....nor do we need a prompt for delete.....we need a by user option to Prompt for Save......and a by user Prompt for Delete.....if you don't want prompting, simply SAVE the data when the user moves off of the form.

by rmacdonald
on ‎04-20-2012 12:31 PM

I TOTALLY agree on the need for a popup warning if you have not saved before moving from a screen.  There are a couple of areas where it does prompt you, but in most cases it does not.  Many users in our company struggle with this issue in our organization, and I have heard from other SLx web users from other organizations that concur.

by Moderator Moderator
on ‎08-01-2012 12:04 PM
Status changed to: Delivered in 8.0
 
by Moderator Moderator
on ‎08-02-2012 08:33 AM
Status changed to: Delivered in 8.0
 
by Copper Contributor ckingktg
on ‎08-04-2012 09:30 AM

I'm not seeing this ability in beta2.  Is this in the product yet?

We want to hear your cool ideas for enhancing Saleslogix products and services. So add your own ideas or kudo (vote) on the ideas of others here! Watch the most valuable bubble to the top!

I have an idea! How do I get started?

One
Read our submission guidelines.

Two
Search for your idea. If you don't see it, submit a new one!

Three
Provide feedback on the ideas of others by voting with kudos and adding comments.
For more information about using ideas, read this thread.

Four
Track your ideas and those you like. Once you've posted or kudoed and idea, subscribe to be notified via email of the latest updates to the idea. From within the idea, click "Idea Options" which appears above the idea title and choose, "Subscribe to this idea".

Be sure to check back from time to time to see new ideas and status updates!

Here is a quick list of the recent ideas for speedy browsing!
Labels