Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings

client server fails to connect to SLX db using SLX 8.1 OLE DB Provider

The client machine has the following installed.

1. SQL Server native client 2008 R2

2. SLX OLE DB Provider (version 8.1)

Our SLX DB is upgraded to 8.1 and resides on our db server.

The datasource is configured on our 8.1 sales Logix server

On the client machine, I uninstalled SLX OLE DB Provider 7.5 and installed SLX OLE DB Provider 8.1 from the "client OLE DB Provider" folder that came as part of the installation.

I am an administrator on the client machine and can successfully connect to the using a 32-bit UDL connection to the SLX db. In this

case I am selecting the SLX OLE DB Provider as the provider.

Other users (including administrators) fail to connect using the UDL connection.

The website on the client machine is running under a different account and hence fails to connect to the  SLX DB.

When I installed the 8.1 SLX OLE DB provider, there was no option to install the provider for all users

The error seen in the log file as below.

System.Data.OleDb.OleDbException: No error message available, result code: E_FAIL(0x80004005).

at System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnectionInternal..ctor(OleDbConnectionString constr, OleDbConnection connection)

at System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnectionFactory.CreateConnection(DbConnectionOptions options, Object poolGroupProviderInfo, DbConnectionPool pool, DbConnection owningObject)

at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.CreateNonPooledConnection(DbConnection owningConnection, DbConnectionPoolGroup poolGroup)

at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionFactory.GetConnection(DbConnection owningConnection)

at System.Data.ProviderBase.DbConnectionClosed.OpenConnection(DbConnection outerConnection, DbConnectionFactory connectionFactory)

at System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection.Open()