Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings

Newbie to SalesLogix development - questions!

Hi All,

I'm completely new to SalesLogix.  I have development experience with Microsoft Dynamics CRM and Salesforce, but Sage is all new.

My company has a fairly basic e-commerce website.  We would like to start synching customer data with SalesLogix.  

I see this as a simple, nightly sync that pulls all customers and updates their associated contacts in SalesLogix. 

I assume this will require creating an account/contact for each new customer.  Possibly creating an activity for orders. 

So, my questions are these:

1. Is there a non-programming approach this I should consider? Like a scheduled, bulk import from CSV?
  2. Can a new type of activity be created for orders? If not, is there somewhere natural for this data to live? (It would be nice for angents to quickly see a person's order history)
  3. What resources are available for the API? I found some old documentation linked to in the forums, but I'd prefer something richer with code samples to get started quickly.   Where should I be looking?
  4. Is .NET the primary interface?  Can applications be written to insert directly into the DB?

I thank you kindly for your insight in advance!  So far, my searches have turned up scant information.

Clif

Gold Super Contributor

Re: Newbie to SalesLogix development - questions!

[ Edited ]

Hi Clif, welcome to the community!

One non-programming way is to use TaskCentre to do it for you.

A programming way.. well there are several:

Via the SalesLogix OLEDB Provider using Recordsets using almost any language.. including VBScript

Via the SData interface (in C# or javascript)

It takes more than Account and contact to properly create records in SalesLogix.

A - to create an account you need:

Account

Address record for Account

AccountSummary Record for Account