Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Highlighted
Copper Super Contributor

An Open Letter Regarding Process Orchestration and SLX Documentation in 7.5.2

[ Edited ]

First, let me preface this by saying that I have worked with 7.5.2 for close to a year now, and I feel that I am an above average developer in terms of skills. And also, if I sound harsh in my assessment, that's because I am being harsh. I welcome the opportunity to be "set in my place" by someone who can show me the error of my ways. But until then...

I am extremely unimpressed with Process Orchestration for a number of reasons... but these reasons translate to my overall dissatisfaction with the documentation for SalesLogix in general.

For one, the API documentation is flat-out useless. My company has invested in the Developer training videos. While I have had issues with the content in the past (mostly because it is out-of-date), I have relied heavily on them to at least get me going in the right direction. In this case, the documentation as well as the videos totally miss out on the "nuances" that have plagued my experience. No substantive discussion is made on the exact deployment process you need to do in order to get things going quickly. I'm not talking about changing ProcessLib and ProcessStart; I'm talking about the need to start services in a specific manner in order to just get the app registered for listening... or how valuable the DBEventing shortcut can be in debugging... why do I have to hunt around the net, scraping together bits of knowledge here and there, to put it all together, when this should be in the developer documentation? Or in the developer videos?