Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings

using NOT in a query

[ Edited ]

Hi Friends!!!!

I'm new to SLX and working on understanding some queries.  I'm having trouble wrapping my head around the NOT field and wonder if perhaps someone could enlightenme...

I thought that the NOT operator would apply to everything within the parenthesis.  It doesn't seem to when I build up my group.  Here's an example (I changed the names of my fields).  I've simplified my query to this to understand it. eventually there will be more things within the first OR group and I was hoping to carve off pieces of it with the NOT's.

(    Contact.StatusDate             is within the last             1100 days                OR

Contact.ActiveDate              is within the last             1100 days     )        AND

NOT  ( Contact.SatusDate            is within the last         1100 days             AND

(  Contact.info                        is equal to                    Yes                        OR

Contact.info                       does not contain data                    ))

I thought the NOT would apply the entire chunk after the parenthesis, but it seems to be using the conditions for contact info on the entire chunk above it (the first OR statement).  Does it have something to do with the date range? 

Am I missing something?

Thanks!

Kristi

Copper Super Contributor

Re: using NOT in a query

Did some reformatting to readability.

Your query

(    Contact.StatusDate is within the last 1100 days OR Contact.ActiveDate  is within the last 1100 days     )       

AND 

NOT  ( 

Contact.SatusDate is within the last 1100 days AND

( Contact.info  is equal to Yes  OR Contact.info does not contain data)

)