Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Reply
Highlighted
Copper Super Contributor
Posts: 104
Registered: ‎06-29-2009

How to have 2 websites on the same server

hello,

I have a Web server (7.5.1) that is already installed the website (http://server:3333/slxclient).
I would use the same DB but the website on another port (eg http://server:3334/slxclient).
So on the server, 2 web sites but with a different development.

how do I proceed?

 

thanks,

 

Ben

Highlighted
Avid Listener
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-03-2009

Re: How to have 2 websites on the same server

Is it necessary to ve on a different port#? I don't think it is possible to have the client on a different site, since you choose this port when you install the client.

 

We are 2 people on our team and we have our own folders.

 

http://server:3333/slxclientUser1

 

http://server:3333/slxclientUser2

 

Then we bundle our changes and release them to a common test site before we release to production.

 

Highlighted
Copper Contributor
Posts: 94
Registered: ‎04-15-2009

Re: How to have 2 websites on the same server

[ Edited ]

Ben, You should be able to find the same in "Application Architect" help. May be under new deployment heading. Don't have help file infront of me right now.

Veronka, Setting two sites on different ports should enhance the performance. I feel Ben is going for large web user installation.

 

Thanks and regards

Sandeep Gaykhe

Message Edited by sgaykhe on 10-10-2009 01:11 PM
Thanks and Regards
Sandeep Gaykhe
Providian Global Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 440
Registered: ‎05-07-2008

Re: How to have 2 websites on the same server

The Application Architect Help should explain but, you can use the deployment explorer to setup multiple sites or virtual directories.

John Perona

Director, Infor CRM Development

Infor CRM

Infor CRM

Highlighted
Bronze Super Contributor
Posts: 153
Registered: ‎04-08-2009

Re: How to have 2 websites on the same server

Another reason to use different ports is if you want to control access.  I'm setting up a system with two different versions of SLX Web, one for internal users and one for third-party partners.   The partners are not supposed to have access to the internal users' version, but it's the same DB, so if the partners were to reach the internal site's login screen, their logins would work.  So the sites are set up on different ports, with only the partner site accessible through the firewall. 

 

 

Highlighted
Gold Super Contributor
Posts: 3,087
Registered: ‎03-19-2009

Re: How to have 2 websites on the same server

You should be able to re-run web host and it will ask if you want to use an existing site or create a new one... create a new one for teh additional site.
--
RJ Ledger - rjledger@rjlSystems.net +1 603.369.3047 x101

".. Innovators in Mobility - Experts in Workflow Automation..."
http://www.rjlSystems.net - blog: www.rjlSystems.net/blog.html