11-13-2009 06:08 AM
We are on 7.2.2 LAN with Remotes. We have 2 or 3 remote users who just do not sync for whatever reason. Their files number in the 10's of thousands and are taking up over a gig of disk space. I would like to stop sending them TEFs. However, I don't know for sure that they are not making updates to their local databases, so want to leave their profiles in a state that if they need to send in changes in the future that they can. Not sure how best to do this.
I could just remove all their subscription rules which I assume will stop sending them most, if not all, files. I am thinking that this would still allow them to send in any changes they have made locally at a future date without them continuing to build outfiles on our server. The other thought I had was to switch them to a Network or Concurrent user type even though they are not (and realistically can't be due to their remote locations). I am thinking that doing this would prevent both sending and recieving TEFs on the server side. What I don't know is if I change them back to remote users in the future if they will be able to send in any local changes at that point...??
Either way, when I make one of the changes above, I will delete any pending OUTFILES for the users. Then when the user(s) decide that they are ready for the grown-up responsibility of regular syncing that I will require they get a new database extract.
11-13-2009 06:15 AM
11-13-2009 06:29 AM
11-13-2009 06:43 AM - edited 11-13-2009 06:47 AM
Also, you should take advantage of our free SalesLogix Sync Report:
I know Mike emailed this to you on ITToolbox, its perfect for keeping an eye on the remote user syncronisation.
11-13-2009 09:01 AM
If it's not going to be a "sync twice a month" situation, you can change them to Network or Concurrent users. You can change them back to Remote in the future if the situation changes. I would think you can still import changes they've made once you make them remote users again, but I would test that first (if you have an ex-employee who was a remote, note the site code, change them to a Network user, then the next day change them back and see if the site code changes).
If you have a returning remote user after you have deleted the out-files. I'd cut a new DB since the old one would be out-of-date with production.