Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Community Home Request Access Read Blogs Share Your Ideas Search Community View My Settings
Copper Super Contributor

Questions about SLX Mobile and Extensibility

I've been an SLX developer now for a couple of years (with a lot of C# enterprise development experience under my belt) and I have to say I am very puzzled by the current documentation situation for the Mobile product.

I have spent a LOT of time piecing together disparate documentation sources, training videos, and articles that are in many cases outdated.  By Sage's own admission, documentation for the mobile product is poor. With the developer training videos (outdated in many cases), CustomerFX training videos (better, but shallow content), the ARGOS SDK wiki (targeted at 2.0), and random snippets I have stumbled upon in my research, there is no clear path to development on the mobile platform. Honestly, I feel if it weren't for Ryan Farley's toolkit work, I'd still be stumbling in the dark. 

Given the obvious direction of mobile workforces in general, I sincerely hope that the leadership responsible for product management improves this situation. 

Now, with that out of the way, I have been asked to assess the viability of customizing the OOTB platform for my organization. Our business needs require LOTS of customizations and I have serious concerns about the mobile apps extensibility. I'm not sure it can support our specific needs.